Eclipse locking up/not responding? Try this …

Okay, for the most part, I really like Eclipse/SpringSource Tool Suite. Sometimes, though, I just want to pull my hair out and scream.

When I got to work today, I brought up eclipse in my VM and it came up nicely in the synchronization view (where I had shut it down on Friday). Check for updates, and nothing was found, so … switch to the Java perspective to crank on some code when … yes, you guessed it … Eclipse locks up. I see the redraw of the perspective start, but it only draws part way. Check CPU utilization and … nothing being consumed. Eclipse has just gone into lah-lah land.

I tried all kinds of solutions, like using -clean on the startup, looking at the logs (nothing logged about the lock up). It wasn’t until I stumbled across this post that I found a solution.

Shut down eclipse and then navigate to <eclipse workspace>/.metadata/.plugins/org.eclipse.core.resources and remove the .snap file.

That’s all I had to do; the post I found indicates that in extreme cases, you may have to remove the entire .plugins directory — but fortunately, I didn’t have to. So, my projects, plugins, settings, etc., were all left intact.

Hope this helps somebody; I only lost 2 1/2 hours of work because of it … 8^)

— A bit of an update to this one; periodically, I still end up in this state. Today, however, the fix we detailed didn’t work at all. In my particular case, this seems to happen when Eclipse starts up in something other than the Java perspective, and the “Not Responding” state begins when switching to that perspective. This latest time, what seemed to do the trick was to start up in the synchronization view (the view I had been coming up); then open the project explorer and close all the projects. Only after the projects are closed should you try to switch to the java perspective. Once I did that, I was able to operate normally … so far …

— and one tiny update, really just adding another data point. Eclipse was locking up on my again (“Not Responding”). I used the “project explorer & close all projects” technique described above, and I got right back in. A few weeks ago, when this happened, I noticed a log message (after having updated my jvm) about a lock timout. A little digging indicates there may be a deadlock issue in some part of eclipse … ?

About John Woodward

Principal Consultant at Improving Enterprises, Inc.
This entry was posted in Software. Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Eclipse locking up/not responding? Try this …

  1. maxradin says:

    This saved me from reinstalling eclipse – thanks for posting!

  2. Sarath Babu says:

    This blog is helped me today. Thank you very much John for your blog 🙂

  3. eoo says:

    Thank you! You saved my time

  4. liderbit says:

    Genial – you saved me!!!!

  5. Luka says:

    Second time that I was forced to bump into this blog post 🙂 Thanks for the solution!

  6. Ravi says:

    Really helped for me thank you

  7. Chithra says:

    Thankyou!

  8. goodstuff says:

    Awesome! Worked like a charm! Thanks!

  9. anil says:

    thanks a lot my friend it worked awesome

  10. Marco says:

    Thank you, you saved me a lot a wasted time

  11. Jeremy says:

    Thank you Thank you Thank you

  12. khaa_khay says:

    but I didn’t found the .snap file
    what should I do ?

    • If there’s no .snap file, then likely you’re not facing the same cause that I was. You sure you’re not hiding files that start with a “.”? For me, with Windoze, I tend to show all files, whether system, hidden, “.”, etc.

      • Walker says:

        I did have ‘.’ files showing, and did not see a .snap file, so what I did was just immediately switch perspectives (it was in the “Java” perspective) when it started up, and that seemed to not result in the spinning wheel of death or not responding.

  13. nisha says:

    Thank You!!

  14. Kamil Mikołajczyk says:

    Sir, you’re hereby awarded “hero of the day” prize 😉 Thank you

  15. kranthi says:

    thanks alot, this saved my time

  16. Vance says:

    Many thanks, Dr. J!

Leave a Reply

