Locked out of Android Phone

Okay … it’s been a terrible week for phones for me. I went jogging last week, with my phone in an exercise carrier strapped to my forearm. When I got home … the phone was pretty sweaty. Having dried it off, I did open it to check it out and … yeah, sweat inside the case, too (LG G4 btw). After that, all the sensors seemed to be dead (rotation didn’t work, proximity sensor was dead, etc. … plus random shut downs). A $20 warranty replacement is forthcoming from T-Mobile, so … all should be good.

Today, my wife and I took my dogs on a walk, and when I got back to the house and pulled the phone out of my pocket, apparently I had quite a number of incorrect passwords entered into the phone. I got a nice message about verifying my identity by logging in with my google credentials. Hey, no problem! I do so and … doesn’t work. Do some digging — and it turns out you have to use the original google account and original password that you set the phone up with. Alright … I did that just 3 months ago (warranty replacement — told you it was bad) so the user id and password should have been correct.

Nothing I tried would work; I starting thinking a factory reset was in the cards for me. Then I stumbled across this forum post, in particular a post by wgrotheer. As it turns out, for security, I had enabled 2-step verification. You MUST turn 2-step verification off in order to authenticate to your phone. So … quick run out to Google, turn it off, and viola! I’m logged back into my phone.

Thank you wgrotheer, whoever you are. Your post back in 2011 saved me!

About John Woodward

Principal Consultant at Improving Enterprises, Inc.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

